Thomas Guterbock Named 2017 John M. Kennedy Achievement Award Recipient

Tom GuterbockThomas Guterbock, Director of the Center for Survey Research at the University of Virginia, has been named the 2017 recipient of the John M. Kennedy Achievement Award, given by the Association of Academic Survey Research Organizations (AASRO) for his service and leadership to academic survey research.

As founding Director of the University of Virginia’s Center for Survey Research, now in its 29th year, Guterbock has led his organization through numerous changes in our industry, including leadership in the introduction of dual-frame telephone surveys, developing multi-mode survey capabilities, and using text messages as survey reminders. He is highly respected within the field of academic survey research, with many peer-reviewed publications and media interviews.

Guterbock has participated in every AASRO meeting since the initial meeting in 2007 when he attended as a founding member.  At the 2008 Berkeley meeting, he authored AASRO’s “Declaration of Interdependence” that served as AASRO’s initial charter document. He served on the steering committee, helped to draft the AASRO by-laws, and was elected as the first secretary of AASRO. Guterbock was also elected as AASRO’s third President and led a strategic planning process that helped to chart AASRO’s future. He has continued to be active in AASRO, serving as Chair of the History and Archives Committee and playing an active role in developing AASRO’s presence on Twitter.

AASRO, the Association of Academic Survey Research Organizations is dedicated to supporting and promoting excellence in survey research conducted in academic settings. The membership is made up of over 60 academic survey research organizations from across the country. For more information, visit

For more information contact:

Andrew Smith, Awards Committee Chair
Association of Academic Survey Research Organizations (AASRO)